Something about Fall

I don’t know what it is. I’m just loving nature right now. It has me pumped. I wanna go running, jump in this frigid pool of ours, go to the wilderness rufuge (which we lovingly call The Refuge) and lounge in my Eno hammock, and go through all the new or tried-and-true fall recipes on Pinterest.

Today I actually tried to catch one of those “helicopter” leaves, as we called them in elementary school. The ones that spiral down all kamikaze, Tasmanian devil-like. I was feeling quite spirited. Needless to say, I had spectators and they thought I was quite amusing. Oh well.

Anyway, I just can’t wait until the leaves REALLY start changing. Not this yellowish green crap. I took this picture last year at the start of Fall, aren’t they wonderful. Probably the most exotic this southern nature will ever get.

I can’t wait for the desserts, oh my gosh, yes. My grandmother’s Kentucky Derby Pie, a chocolate pecan variety, will be present at both Thanksgiving and Christmas. My Caramel Apple cupcakes will be there for my late fall birthday. Lots of sugar cookies are in my future, it’s a favorite of the Boyfriend’s and his family. But I really have a hankering for some gingerbread cookies. I have some probably expired, amazing molasses in my fridge teasing me.

Also, does anyone actually say “hankering” anymore? Hmm.

Leave a Reply

