December Daily 2014

December Daily is a popular project for project lifers and traditional scrapbookers alike. Ali Edwards describes it, “December Daily® is a December mini-album project that documents the 25 days leading up to Christmas. The simple goal is to capture the spirit of December via one story per day.”

This is my first december daily so I have made realistic, yet challenging standards for this project.

GOALS:

  1. Christmas themed all month: I try to give my weekly spreads a clean look with a good balance of white. I am giving December its own look though.  December is all Christmas themed even though my photos aren’t all Christmas events.
  2. Minibook alternative: Some people do a summary of December in their project life album and do an additional mini book album of December in depth. It seems natural to include December Daily in the same binder as my 2014 weekly spreads. A separate minibook seems overkill. I’ll still go in depth and show some separation for the season. I’m using those 6×6″ four pocket pages that no one seems to use in the Studio Calico gallery. (Becky Higgins Design E pocket page). I like the idea that I’m making mini book pages but coordinating them to look good in fours. This means I can’t just print my photos from the collect app in 3×4″ but I’m hoping I can get into a rhythm that looks good.
  3. Limit products: I really wanted the Evergreen collection by Basic Grey but stopped myself. One year I had ONE photo from December, so let’s be real. I was gifted an American Crafts christmas paper pad and Crate Paper cardboard sticker set and I bought the 25 days Thicker stickers as well for the project. I took a note from Big Picture Classes’s Stacy Julian & limited my products to just these items, some gold stars from Heidi Swapp, gold puffy hearts from Studio Calico and all my gold alpha.
  4. Scrap faster: I needed to stay mindful that a lot of scrappers don’t finish their december dailies. This was why I gave myself limits and did not attempt one story a day. I would love to say that I scrapped faster but… I kept making the decision to turn Gilmore Girls on and 30 minutes turned into 2 hours. Then I tried using a tabata workout timer app to keep myself on schedule. I set it to give me 5 seconds to “Warm up” and get situated. Then, six 5 minute intervals for each block of a 12×12 page. It was a good idea but once I had printer problems it went to crumbles. The one benefit was that every 5 minutes I would be reminded that I was trying to focus and power through, because about 4 minutes in I would be staring at the page trying to figure out my journaling.

Thanks for listening,

Hayrhea


supplies: AC christmas paper padcrate paper sleigh ride cardboard stickersAC Thickers gold foil alphaAC Thickers 25 daysRhonna Designs app with the Insta Christmas quotes add onStudio Calico puffy gold hearts

december daily week 49december daily week 49december daily week 49december daily week 49 December Daily week 50december daily week 49 december daily week 49 december daily week 50

Leave a Reply

